Confessing

So I just posted my ideal, the way I wish public citizens should consume their media diet and form their political opinions. I do want to confess my own political biases and wish list, and come clean, so to speak.

I was thrilled that Obama won reelection. I am glad that he has changed his political tactics to pursue his own agenda. I think he gave away too much to the right, with the idea that compromise could begin with him, and work to bridge some polarity in Washington. I hope some sensible gun violence laws will be enacted. I want Obamacare to be just the beginning of health care reform; we have some real problems in health care. I want tax restoration to happen. I want capital gains to be taxed more, with the idea that the profound wealth gap can be reduced. I believe jobs and economic power of the middle class are the surest way to prosperity for our nation. I want to see the Tea Party marginalized. I want to see our congress actually talk, but first listen to each other, give in a little, and pass some smaller, more understandable laws. I want to see some immigration reform, gun violence legislation passed. There are some serious environmental issues needing attention, only one of which is how we have changed the climate. We’ve appropriated the habitat of so many living things and sent even more to extinction oblivion. We need to let science guide more of our decisions.

There, a laundry list is off my chest.

Now, I must ask myself this question: Which comes first, the way I learn, or my opinions? Well, there is no way to be so objective to get a clear answer to the question. But we all should lean a certain way, the way that looks to truly learn and grow, receiving the good and joy that our senses can take in. I believe that character and culture determine how we live much more than laws, philosophical dogma, and ex post facto punishment instead of preventative efforts.

About Jim

I've been leading outdoor environmental education in the YMCA since the 1970s. I love teaching nature, history, current events, being a dad, fixing stuff, groups, and general thinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

