A Nonpartisan Piece of Advice.

What I was looking for on last night’s foreign policy debate, as I am sure zillions of other people were, is some specifics on the future. We got “saber tooth rattling” from Romney, and “I’m the President and I keep my word” from Obama. And we got a lot of “proceed with caution” from both of them. The whole debate seemed to me like both guys’ stump speeches interlaced.

That’s all fine. They are not THAT different in their views, though Romney has certainly moved to the center from – well, I don’t know what.

Here’s something that I think would be one great campaign promise on foreign policy. This would be easy to fulfill, and I imagine the state department is already doing something like it, but we the public are not aware of it.

There should be a working group on North Africa. A group that monitors the progress of democracy, prudently provides American guidance to those new and sovereign nations, and seeks peaceful economic and political progress during this tumultuous time.

The world is wondering what will become of these fledgling democracies. They deserve to be sovereign, and reap the benefits of freedom in speech, religion, press, and economy. But America also deserves its own un-threatened stability. I do not doubt that a Romney or an Obama administration will seek to wield some influence, one hopes in a benevolent manner, be it ever so covert or overt. Still, both debaters have promised us a transparent administration. Placate us.

About Jim

I've been leading outdoor environmental education in the YMCA since the 1970s. I love teaching nature, history, current events, being a dad, fixing stuff, groups, and general thinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

