Think Outside those Buns

Many of my fellow eagle scouts are returning their medals. I say power to them. They don’t want to enjoin an organization that refuses admission to gay people. Sure, the Scouts have a right to admit who they want as a private organization. And everyone has the prerogative to choose which organization they join.

My problem with the scouts is not that they need to behave by some federal code, though they have a near monopoly in what they do. My problem is not with anyone’s civil rights, or the rights of groups to organize. My problem is with the Scouts’ responsibility to set an example and to get with the times. To be gay is not a crime, not a choice, not a medical condition. It was viewed that way many years ago. The stance these Texan officials are taking is archaic and simply false. My medal is somewhere, but I stand with the protesters. Get with it, you gentlemen of character.

I eat chicken too. The CEO of Chick-Fil-A has the same problem. Say whatever you want as a private citizen, and as a capitalist. I don’t go to Chick Fil-A much. And I often like to eat fast food on a Sunday, which is about fourteen percent of the time. Have it your way, Dan Cathy. People can applaud you in appreciation of your right to say whatever whacky thing you want. I can’t get behind anyone who thinks there is divine retribution for same sex marriage. There were captains of industry who said equally preposterous things antebellum.

These groups are living in the past, or someplace I would never choose to live. You make your comments, I’ll live my life. I’m staying in a good mood with my food choice. I’m lovin’ it. You know when it’s real.

About Jim

I've been leading outdoor environmental education in the YMCA since the 1970s. I love teaching nature, history, current events, being a dad, fixing stuff, groups, and general thinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Think Outside those Buns

  1. JP says:

    Amen, Jim. I only made Tenderfoot in my scouting days (long story), and I applaud your position. It is time for the membership to push scouting into the 21st century.
    I guess there are some Chick Fil-A places in Chicago though I’ve never eaten at one and had never heard of it until this kerfufle. I object to their goofy spelling and would boycott on those grounds. If the CEO had just said stuff that would be one thing, and of course he also donated millions of dollars (made from selling chicken dinners) to groups working against gay rights. I say let’s just have sunlight. He has a right to do what he wants with his money, and we have a right to know what is going to be done with the money we spend and we can choose accordingly. Of course, virtually anything we buy, if we knew everything the CEO of the company that sold whatever it was did we his money, we could probably find something we objected to. There are always some aspects of being an American citizen (and maybe even just a resident of earth) that are deals with the devil; i.e. none of us like everything the government does with our tax dollars.

Leave a Reply

