Guns Don’t Kill People, and apparently Hoodies do

The usually funny Gail Collins can’t even find anything funny about this story in her column today. She is the only one in the media who I have seen ask the obvious question; would it have happened if Zimmerman wasn’t allowed to have a gun? It is the invisible elephant in the room, the question no one will ask, and for which no one has an answer. Whenever shooting tragedies like this happen, I always say, remind me again how guns are good? Jim, you live in a state where on average every resident has something like four guns, right? I live in the only remaining state in the country where there is not a concealed carry law, that is, the only state where no one is allowed to carry a concealed weapon. When I think of that it makes me want to not leave my state.Of course we know the answer to why Zimmerman was allowed to have a gun and to think he could kill Trayvon without consequence because of the Stand Your Ground laws. Krugman gave us that answer earlier in the week, when he showed that those laws were all written by ALEC and the NRA. And of course it reminds me of that verse in the gospel of No Hesitations, where Jesus exhorts us to shoot first and ask questions later.
I was talking to my old neighbor, my mom’s neighbor, who I’ve known my whole life, a week or so ago. He is a good friend and neighbor, and very closed minded and right wing. We were talking about all the wars we are in, and he mentioned that he isn’t worried about the U.S being attacked or invaded, citing his cousin who lives in NM or Arizona or somewhere down there, who has a lot of guns and over 2000 rounds of ammo. He felt confident that would be plenty of defense against any invading army. On the same visit to my mom we went to the local history museum to see their new exhibit on the cold war and how the country dealt with fears of a nuclear war. We watched a few short propaganda films that had been put out by the state department in the 1950s. They seem funny now, and what is frightening and amazing is that those films were taken seriously at the time. When our neighbor talked about a few guns defending against an invading army, I thought, yeah, that’ll be as effective as the old “duck and cover” would have been in defense against a nuclear bomb.

About JP

We're two guys who met in college, in 1980. We've stayed in touch, and like to talk politics, current events, music and religion. JP is nore liberal than Sid, but not in every way. We figure that dialogue stimulates ideas, moderates perspective, and is in general friendly. These are things we need badly in these dangerous times. The blog name is taken from a song by Bruce Cockburn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Guns Don’t Kill People, and apparently Hoodies do

  1. Jim says:

    You do know, JP, there are details emerging about that story. Let’s be careful to let the investigation work the process. Should Zimmerman be arrested or at least held? Probably, but I wasn’t there either. The exact meaning of the second amendment is not clear, except that it was written in the aftermath of rebellion that involved many militia. We don’t really work that way any more – we have a volunteer cum professional military, controlled by civilians, so we think – does that mean the Amendment needs to be re-written?

  2. JP says:

    Yes, details are emerging on the case. And I didn’t comment on any of the specific details, did I? The only thing you can say I commented on was that a man who did have a gun, Zimmerman, shot and killed an unarmed boy who was 100 pounds lighter than him. That much is in dispute by no one. I made no assumptions or comments beyond that.
    And yeah, we don’t have a citizen’s militia, which was why we needed the 2nd amendment. I think it should be rewritten, and I understand that with the power of the NRA and the fervor of gun owners, we will never be allowed to have that discussion, let alone to make it happen. Remember when Obama was first elected and there was a huge run on ammunition, because so many on the far right were certain Obama was going to take away their guns? Well, they’re at it again; I heard I think Dick Morris on Fox the other night basically saying Obama has been laying in wait to do that as soon as his second term starts. Sheesh. Some days I think we really are returning to the middle ages.

Leave a Reply

