Moyers on Obama

If you’re tired of all the loud and unreasonable voices, some coming from both sides of the issue, and want a calm, reasoned, historical assessment of Obama’s solution to the contraception controversy, take six minutes and watch or read this essay by Bill Moyers. Like Bill, I agree that the president handled this one exactly right, though Bill makes the case far more eloquently than I could. I wish some of my conservative friends would watch this–you know, the ones who have disowned me, cut me off completely, because I have voted for a Democrat, and they are outraged by that party, facts be damned. They tell me that the Democrats have spent a generation aborting children and are pure evil. I find the conversation, such as it was, ends as soon as I point out that as a matter of, you know, facts, data, truth, make of it what you will, since Roe became law there have been fewer abortions in America when Democrats are in the White House than when Republicans are. There are plenty of reasons for this, and the biggest one is that Democrats understand that the single overwhelmingly largest reason women chose to have an abortion is economic. And Democrats have done far more to help the least fortunate among us, enabling many poor woman to choose to carry their pregnancies to term. I don’t know why I stop hearing from friends at this point (and it has happened too many times). Maybe they don’t have an answer. Maybe they don’t even read the response and merely separate themselves from all things Democratic less they be infected by the evil. I really just want to have a good fact based, reasoned discussion with the other side. How else do we all see our own blind spots unless they are pointed out by those we disagree with? It really just makes me sad to see people so locked in to their mindset that they are unable to even have a conversation. It makes me sad for them, and sad for our country and the state of our political discourse.
So I am very thankful for you, Jim. For though we agree far more than we disagree, I’m not sure I know anyone to the right of you–that is the right of center (okay, I can think maybe of one person)–who will even have an ongoing conversation with me and try to make their case.
I’ve gotten off track. I wish my conservative friends (or former friends) would watch the Bill Moyers essay. I really think it possible he might get through to a few of them. But I know that they would never go near it. And that makes me sad. Yet I remain thankful for the calm, wise voice of one of my long time heroes, Bill Moyers. In the crazy cacophony of our world, he helps me keep my head about me.

About JP

We're two guys who met in college, in 1980. We've stayed in touch, and like to talk politics, current events, music and religion. JP is nore liberal than Sid, but not in every way. We figure that dialogue stimulates ideas, moderates perspective, and is in general friendly. These are things we need badly in these dangerous times. The blog name is taken from a song by Bruce Cockburn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

