Love the Car Rant!

Jim, I love your rant on driving! It’s clear you live in Texas, where they all think bigger is better. (One time decades ago some Texas businessmen bought some land in Colorado and wanted to open a Texas state park in CO. That didn’t set well with the mountain folk and they didn’t allow it. The other reason they don’t think much of Texans is that in Colorado, you will often see contraptions like an SUV with a trailer that is pulling a boat, a couple mountain bikes, a camper, and who knows what else. And they’re almost always from Texas. At least that was the feeling in Colorado when I lived there a long time ago.)
Your rant also made my day as I’ve recently again wondered what it would be like to own a car, which I haven’t since 1992, and whether it would be a good idea to have one in Chicago. And you’ve reminded me how much I like not having a car. I know where you live that isn’t an option, as I long as I live where it is an option, I’m glad I’m able to exercise it and use my feet, my bike, and the buses and trains to get around. I’m with you on the cigarette butts out the window. That should be against the law.

About JP

We're two guys who met in college, in 1980. We've stayed in touch, and like to talk politics, current events, music and religion. JP is nore liberal than Sid, but not in every way. We figure that dialogue stimulates ideas, moderates perspective, and is in general friendly. These are things we need badly in these dangerous times. The blog name is taken from a song by Bruce Cockburn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

