It started in college, 1980

Jim here.

College is a fertile time. We bring our dreams and intellects there, we meet people, share ideas, and become taller in every way. JP and I both attended a group called Intervarsity Fellowship at the U of Iowa. Became friends there, sharing interests in folk music, politics, religion and what not.

We’ve stayed in touch over the years. Email definitely helps with that, but so have Christmas cards.

There was a chapter a few years ago where I cc’ed JP on some email sparring I was doing with an old scout buddy, who has gone off the deep end in politics; he’s at least as reactionary as the Tea Party, likely much farther right than that. We both sparred with him, until it became clear he was just in a world he created himself, and there was no budging on his part. So we gave him up, but kept up our dialogue.

Perhaps that is a key in our dialogue; we both have ideas – pretty well thought out – but we are not absolutley closed minded. We can feed off each other in good ways. He’s in Chicago, I am in Dallas, so this is a pen-pal dialogue of sorts.

One thing we have in common is that we like the music of Bruce Cockburn. We named the blog after one of his songs, Tell the Universe. Now this one is telling, because it’s Bruce’s charges against George W  Bush, and that crazy war he initiated in Iraq.

Let me tell you about my politics. I call myself an Aggressive Moderate. I believe in the power of the market, I believe in the power of government to equalize opportunity. My news comes mostly from NPR, PBS, AP, and the NY Times. I voted for Obama, and I remain proud that I did. Of course, there are specifics on which we do not see quite the same.

I have an Episcopal background, and I am pretty liberal in my beliefs, calling myself a Deist.

I have strong environmental views, believe in the power of science (and love its history).

That’s enough about me for the while.

About Jim

I've been leading outdoor environmental education in the YMCA since the 1970s. I love teaching nature, history, current events, being a dad, fixing stuff, groups, and general thinking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It started in college, 1980

  1. klawitter1 says:

    Did the dialogue with your conservative old Scout buddy budge either of you?

  2. sidandjp says:

    Insightful, sir. Open mindedness goes both ways. Of course this is not how it’s working in congress right now. I think we did listen and consider his point of view. But I am not a christian fundamentalist, nor am I a reactionary politico.

Leave a Reply

