I couldn’t have said it better myself

Richard Eskow outlines what he sees as the top 12 political fallacies of 2012. I think he is pretty on target across the board with only a couple minor caveats. I think he cuts through a lot of rhetoric, BS, and propaganda that has made its way into our consciousness and conventional wisdom. I like that he parses the difference between what we need in the short term and long term on things like Medicare. My guess is, Jim, that you will find this too far left, and I would ask for a reasoned rebuttal rather than an cast-off dismissal based on the perception of an ideology. I like that he looks at real solutions, and as that is something you want to focus on, it might even be worth discussing each of the 12 points, whether and to what extent they are true, and then the best way to work for real progress or solutions in those areas. I see this as sort of a Citizens State of the Union as we go into 2013. I’m guessing we can agree that no matter our positional differences, there is a lot of work to do ahead in 2013.Happy New Year! We had a lot of great discussion in 2012, and I’m hoping for even better in 2013.

About JP

We're two guys who met in college, in 1980. We've stayed in touch, and like to talk politics, current events, music and religion. JP is nore liberal than Sid, but not in every way. We figure that dialogue stimulates ideas, moderates perspective, and is in general friendly. These are things we need badly in these dangerous times. The blog name is taken from a song by Bruce Cockburn.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

